ACM Awards Accolades

Thursday, May 22, 2008

I was checking some of the many press releases I got after this year's ACM Awards and ran across a photo from the Sony/BMG after party.

From a fan prospective, how cool would it be to be at such an event. All those highly talented stars in one spot on a very important evening.

From a professional prospective, what an incredible night for the label group, they certainly had a lot to celebrate. Kenny Chesney and Brad Paisley were both double winners, with Chesney claiming his fourth consecutive Entertainer of the Year trophy along with Vocal Event (“Find Out Who Your Friends Are”), while Paisley walked away with Top Male Vocalist for the second year and also won for Video of the Year (“Online”). Carrie Underwood was named Top Female Vocalist for the second year in a row, and Miranda Lambert was honored with Album of the Year for Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Brooks & Dunn claimed Top Vocal Duo and extended their lead as the most-awarded act in ACM history. Wow, pretty amazing the accolades that indeed deserve a time for celebration and recognition.

Some other facts from the ACMs include...

• Lady Antebellum, Jack Ingram and Jason Alexander each won their first-ever
ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS tonight. Lady Antebellum won for Top New Duo or Vocal Group; Ingram won for Top New Male Vocalist; Alexander won for Video of the Year (for Brad Paisley’s “Online”)

• Brooks & Dunn hold the most awards in the Top Vocal Duo category with a total of 15 wins. Rascal Flatts win for Top Vocal Group tied Alabama’s record for the most onsecutive wins in this category – with six years running.

• First time in Academy of Country Music history that fans chose the winner of the Academy’s highest honor, selecting Kenny Chesney as Entertainer of the Year for the fourth consecutive year. Brad Paisley won Top Male Vocalist and Carrie Underwood won Top Female Vocalist, both for the second consecutive year.

• Sugarland, Brad Paisley, Rascal Flatts, Kenny Chesney each won two Academy Country Music Awards tonight: Sugarland for Single Record of the Year and Song of the Year for “Stay”; Paisley for Top Male Vocalist and Video of the Year; Rascal Flatts for Top Vocal Group and Academy Of Country Music / The Home Depot Humanitarian Award; Chesney for Entertainer of the Year and Vocal Event of the Year (with Tracy Lawrence and Tim McGraw).

Pictured (l-r) at Sony BMG Nashville’s post-show dinner celebration: Sony BMG Nashville Executive VP Butch Waugh; Ronnie Dunn; Carrie Underwood; Kix Brooks; Miranda Lambert; ACM show host Reba McEntire; Brad Paisley; Kenny Chesney; Sony BMG Nashville Chairman Joe Galante and Executive VP A&R Renee Bell. Photo credit: Tyler Powell/Christie’s Photographic Studios